WLA Responsible Gaming Awards 2014

Following the acceptance of the WLA Responsible Gaming Framework (RGF) in Singapore in 2006, the WLA responsible gaming certification program was successfully finalized and implemented in 2009. Currently, 44 WLA members are certified at level 4, the highest level of achievement; nine WLA members are certified at level 3; and 14 WLA members are certified at level 2. The RGF serves as an excellent guide for lotteries and businesses in their bid to attain the highest industry standards of responsible gaming and sustainable lottery business development.

After the last WLA Responsible Gaming Awards in 2012, the WLA is once again issuing a call for award submissions.

WLA Responsible Gaming Award categories

In order to further promote excellence and innovation in the industry, the WLA has decided to showcase three awards recognizing the commitment and achievements of members at different stages of their Responsible Gaming program development:

  • The Best INNOVATION in Responsible Gaming Award aims to recognize members, at level 2, 3 or 4, showcasing best practices and innovation in the delivery of an element of their Responsible Gaming program or a specific initiative (e.g. use of resources or tools).
  • The Best EMERGING Responsible Gaming Program Award recognizes members, at level 2 or 3, whose plans clearly demonstrate commitment to a vision and plan that will realize a world-class program.
  • The Best OVERALL Responsible Gaming Program Award aims to recognize excellence in Responsible Gaming and reward the best overall program at level 4, showcasing best practices and innovations across all program elements.

The lottery winners will be announced during the WLA General Meeting, to be held from 14:30–17:00 at WLS 2014 in Rome on Wednesday, November 5, 2014. 

For further details on how to submit and the award judging criteria, please consult the WLA Responsible Gaming Awards submission guidance.


All WLA lottery members who are certified by the WLA at levels 2, 3 or 4, depending on the award category they are submitting for, or who will be submitting for one of those levels of certification by the May 2014 deadline, are eligible to apply.

Submissions will be evaluated by the WLA RG Independent Assessment Panel. If your lottery is the immediate past winner of one of those awards, it can only resubmit for this award in its next certification cycle.

Deadline for submissions

The deadline for submissions for the WLA Responsible Gaming Awards is
Friday, September 5, 2014.

Submission address

WLA Montreal Business office
c/o Loto-Québec
500 Sherbrooke Street West
Suite 2000
Montréal, Québec H3A 3G6
Phone: +1 514 282 0273
Fax: +1 514 873 8999
E-mail: ma@world-lotteries.org (Mélissa Azam)
Ref: 2014 RG Awards

Entry fee

An entry fee of EUR 500 per submission is payable in full by bank transfer upon submission to:

World Lottery Association
WLA - General Secretariat - Montreal Office
500, Sherbrooke Street West, Office 2000
Montreal QC H3A 3G6

Account No.: / 104390 264 003 00101

Beneficiary Bank:
National Bank of Canada
600, de la Gauchetière West
Montreal QC H3B 4L2

Transit Code: //CC0006 15041

Further information

For further information, please contact Mélissa Azam at ma@world-lotteries.org. We look forward to seeing your submission and wish you all the best with your entry.